Once you've settled on composite, the next decision is which brand and which line goes on the quote. This guide compares Trex, TimberTech (including its AZEK PVC boards), Fiberon and Deckorators line by line: what's inside the board, how it's capped, warranty years and the fine print behind them, heat claims, board sizes and retail price. Every figure comes from the manufacturers' own pages and warranty documents or a named retailer, and every brand is named here only as a market option. If you're still deciding between composite and wood, start with our guide to Trex vs cedar vs pressure-treated in Dallas heat. If you're putting new boards on an old frame, read whether to repair or replace an old deck first.
Which composite decking brand is best for a Texas deck?
There isn't one best brand. Trex, TimberTech, Fiberon and Deckorators each have a line that does best on something different, so pick by what matters most on your lot: heat, warranty, stain resistance or budget.
- Full sun and no shade planned: look at a heat-mitigating line in a light color, such as TimberTech AZEK PVC with Cool Touch or Trex Transcend Lineage. Trex itself recommends a lighter color or a Lineage board for hot climates.
- Four-sided cap and long warranty on a wood-plastic board: Fiberon Concordia is capped on all four sides and carries a lifetime performance warranty plus 50 years of stain and fade cover. Trex Transcend, Lineage and Signature also carry 50 years, with a three-sided shell.
- Tightest budget: the entry lines. Trex Enhance starts at $2.30 per linear foot, Deckorators Venture at $2.79 and TimberTech Prime+ at $3.43 (retail starting prices from Advantage Lumber, 2026). Fiberon marks its Good Life line with a single $ and says it is "priced closer to wood."
- Low decks close to the ground: Deckorators' warranty allows only six of its mineral-based boards (Voyage, Dock & Deck, Vault, T&G Porch, Pioneer and Summit) to be installed in contact with the ground.
- Slip resistance: TimberTech says its AZEK Vintage and Harvest boards have "40% better traction, wet or dry, than competitive products." That is the maker's own claim.
On Advantage Lumber's 2026 starting prices, the gap between a brand's entry line and its top line is bigger than the gap between brands at the same level. Choose the line first, then compare the two or three brands that make something similar.
Trex vs TimberTech vs Fiberon vs Deckorators comparison (2026)
Here is how the four brands line up on core, cap, longest stain and fade warranty, and heat-mitigating options. Read the heat column as a list of what each maker sells, not a ranking: each brand measures against a different baseline, and some give no number at all.
| Brand | Composite lines | PVC or mineral-based lines | Cap | Longest stain and fade warranty | Heat-mitigating option (maker's claim) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trex | Enhance, Select, Transcend, Transcend Lineage, Signature | Refuge (solid PVC) | Three sides on every composite line | 50 years (Signature, Transcend, Lineage, Refuge) | Lineage, plus SunComfortable in five Enhance colors and Select's newest colors |
| TimberTech | PRO (Legacy, Reserve, Terrain, Terrain+), EDGE (Prime, Prime+, Premier, Premier+) | TimberTech AZEK Advanced PVC (Vintage, Landmark, Harvest, Harvest+) | Four sides on PRO, three on EDGE | 50 years (AZEK Vintage, Harvest) | Cool Touch on 14 AZEK PVC colors |
| Fiberon | Concordia, Sanctuary, Good Life, ArmorGuard, Novus | Promenade, Paramount (PVC) | Four sides on Concordia and Promenade, three on the rest of the comparison table | 50 years (Concordia, Novus, Promenade, Paramount) | None published |
| Deckorators | Vista, Venture, Altitude, Trailhead, Distressed, Tropics, Tradewinds | Surestone mineral-based (Voyage, Vault, Summit, Pioneer, Dock & Deck, T&G Porch, Picture Frame Board) | Trailhead capped on three sides at launch; others not stated in the documents we read | 25 years (every line) | Surestone infrared-reflective cap, no temperature figure |
Sources for this table: Trex's decking, FAQ and warranty pages; TimberTech's decking page, Vintage and Harvest pages and its TimberTech vs Trex comparison; Fiberon's lineup comparison, warranty and Novus pages; and Deckorators' 2025 warranty and overview documents. Deckorators' own website blocked our requests, so its details come only from those documents.
Good, better, best: every brand's product tiers
Each brand sells an entry, middle and premium line, and the price spread inside a brand is wide. At one retailer, Trex's top board starts at about 4.3 times the price of its cheapest per linear foot ($9.96 vs $2.30), and Deckorators' at about 2.6 times ($7.16 vs $2.79), calculated from Advantage Lumber's starting prices.
| Brand | Line | How the maker labels it | Retail starting price per linear foot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trex | Enhance Basics / Enhance Naturals | Good, $ to $$ | $2.30 / $3.26 |
| Trex | Select | Better, $$$ | $4.45 |
| Trex | Transcend and Transcend Lineage | Best, $$$$ | $7.15 (Transcend collections) |
| Trex | Signature | Luxury, $$$$$ | $9.96 |
| Trex | Refuge (PVC) | $$$$ | Not listed |
| TimberTech | EDGE Prime+ | Composite EDGE | $3.43 |
| TimberTech | PRO Terrain / Reserve / Legacy | Composite PRO | $4.36 / $6.12 / $7.36 |
| TimberTech | AZEK Harvest / Harvest+ / Landmark / Vintage | Advanced PVC | $5.28 / $6.65 / $6.81 / $7.68 |
| Fiberon | Good Life (Escapes, Weekender), ArmorGuard | $ | Not in the retailer's list |
| Fiberon | Sanctuary, Paramount (PVC) | $$ | Not in the retailer's list |
| Fiberon | Concordia, Promenade (PVC) | $$$ | Not in the retailer's list |
| Deckorators | Venture / Vista | Wood-plastic composite | $2.79 / $5.19 |
| Deckorators | Summit / Vault / Voyage | Mineral-based composite | $5.65 / $6.41 / $7.16 |
Prices are retail starting prices from Advantage Lumber, 2026, for standard boards, and they change often. Fiberon wasn't in that retailer's list, so the table shows only Fiberon's own $ to $$$ symbols. TimberTech groups its collections as Premium, Upgrade and Standard but doesn't say which collection sits in which group, so the table uses its family names instead. ArmorGuard is sold only at The Home Depot.
Which grade of Trex decking is best?
Trex calls Transcend and Transcend Lineage its "Best" tier, with Signature above them as "Luxury." Trex says Signature is its most scratch-resistant board, and that Lineage is its coolest decking. Select (the "Better" line, 35-year warranty) is 0.82 inches thick, which Trex says is slightly thinner than its other lines. Enhance (the "Good" line, 25 years) has a scalloped underside and is Trex's lightest composite board. For a full-sun Texas deck, the Trex line its own advice points to is Lineage.
What's inside the board: wood-plastic composite vs PVC vs mineral-based
Most composite lines (Trex, TimberTech PRO and EDGE, Fiberon Concordia, Sanctuary and Good Life, Deckorators Vista and Venture) are wood-plastic composite. TimberTech AZEK, Trex Refuge, Fiberon Promenade and Paramount are PVC with no wood, and Deckorators Surestone is mineral-based.
- Wood-plastic composite: Trex makes its composite from 95% recycled plastic film and reclaimed sawdust. TimberTech describes PRO and EDGE as "high-performance and recycled polymers and reclaimed wood fibers." Fiberon says Concordia is 94% recycled, with a wood-plastic core.
- PVC: TimberTech says its AZEK Advanced PVC has "absolutely no wood fibers." Trex Refuge is a solid-profile PVC board that Trex markets as ignition-resistant. Fiberon Promenade is a cellular foam polymer with a four-sided cap, rated Class A under ASTM E84 and approved for wildfire (WUI) zones. Paramount carries the same Class A and WUI listing.
- Mineral-based composite: Deckorators' Surestone boards are a blend of plastic polymers and minerals with no organic material, according to a sponsored trade article. Deckorators' warranty allows only mineral-based boards in contact with the ground.
The core decides the weight, the feel and which warranty you get. PVC vs composite is a bigger topic than one section, so here it's enough to know which lines fall on which side.
3-sided vs 4-sided capping: does it matter?
Every Trex composite line is capped on three sides, while TimberTech PRO and Fiberon Concordia cap all four, which protects the underside and the grooves too.
Trex says its shell "wraps around three sides of the composite board." That applies to Signature, Transcend Lineage, Transcend, Select and Enhance. TimberTech lists Legacy, Reserve, Terrain+ and Terrain as four-sided, and says Legacy's cap covers "all four sides, including inside the grooves." Its EDGE lines (Prime, Prime+, Premier, Premier+) are three-sided.
At Fiberon, Concordia is four-sided and reversible. Fiberon finishes it on the top and bottom, so either face can go up. Promenade PVC is also four-sided. Paramount, Sanctuary, Good Life and ArmorGuard are three-sided. Deckorators launched Trailhead with a polyethylene cap on three sides through the grooved edge.
Be careful with how much weight you give this. The most detailed case for four-sided capping comes from TimberTech's own comparison page, and no brand publishes independent long-term data showing how much the fourth side changes a board's life. Three-sided Trex Transcend still carries a 50-year warranty. Treat capping as one factor alongside the warranty years, not a deciding one.
Fade and stain warranties: exact years by product line
Stain and fade warranties run from 25 years (Trex Enhance, TimberTech EDGE, Fiberon's entry lines, every Deckorators line) to 50 years (Trex Transcend, Signature and Refuge, TimberTech AZEK, Fiberon Concordia, Novus, Promenade and Paramount). These are residential terms. Trex gives 10 years for commercial use, and Fiberon gives 10 years for all its decking in commercial use.
| Line | Core | Cap | Stain and fade (residential) | Product or structural (residential) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trex Signature, Transcend, Transcend Lineage | Composite | Three sides | 50 years, one warranty that includes fade and stain | |
| Trex Select | Composite | Three sides | 35 years, one warranty | |
| Trex Enhance | Composite | Three sides | 25 years, one warranty | |
| Trex Refuge | Solid PVC | Not stated | 50 years, one warranty | |
| TimberTech AZEK Vintage, Harvest | PVC | Not stated | 50 years | Limited lifetime |
| TimberTech PRO Legacy, Terrain | Composite | Four sides | Up to 30 years | Up to 30 years |
| TimberTech EDGE Prime, Premier | Composite | Three sides | 25 years | 25 years |
| Fiberon Concordia (Symmetry, Horizon) | Composite | Four sides | 50 years | Lifetime |
| Fiberon Novus | Composite core in a shell | Not stated | 50 years | Lifetime |
| Fiberon Promenade / Paramount | PVC | Four sides / three sides | 50 years | Lifetime |
| Fiberon Sanctuary | Composite | Three sides | 40 years | 40 years |
| Fiberon Good Life Escapes | Composite | Three sides | 30 years | 30 years |
| Fiberon Good Life Weekender, ArmorGuard | Composite | Three sides | 25 years | 25 years |
| Deckorators Voyage, Picture Frame Board | Mineral-based | Not stated | 25 years | 50 years, plus 25 years of removal and replacement cover |
| Deckorators Vault, Pioneer, Dock & Deck | Mineral-based | Not stated | 25 years | 50 years |
| Deckorators Summit | Mineral-based | Not stated | 25 years | 25 years |
| Deckorators Vista, Venture, Trailhead and other wood-plastic lines | Composite | Trailhead three sides; others not stated | 25 years | 25 years |
Fiberon's warranty table names Concordia's Symmetry and Horizon collections. It doesn't name Astir, the third collection, though Fiberon's Concordia page says the whole line carries lifetime plus 50 years. TimberTech's Premier page repeats "up to 30 years" in its header, but its warranty section says 25 years, so the table uses 25.
What the warranty fine print says
The years are only half of it. The documents we could read (Trex's and Deckorators') spell out how fading is measured, how coverage shrinks over time and what isn't covered.
- How fading is measured: Trex covers color change of more than 5 Delta E (a lab measure of color difference) in the first 25 years, then more than 15 Delta E for the rest of the term. Deckorators uses 5 Delta E for solid colors, but for multi-tone colors it only covers "an unreasonable amount" of change beyond normal weathering. We couldn't open TimberTech's or Fiberon's warranty documents for their thresholds, so ask your builder for the current PDF before you sign.
- When coverage starts to shrink: Trex prorates from year 11. On its 50-year schedule it pays 90% in years 11 to 16, 70% in years 17 to 22, 50% in years 23 to 28, 30% in years 29 to 35, 20% in years 36 to 42 and 10% in years 43 to 50. Deckorators starts sooner. On its 50-year schedule it pays 80% from year 6, 60% from year 11, 40% from year 16, 20% from year 21, then 15%, 10% and finally 5% in years 41 to 50. Its 25-year schedule drops to 80% in year 7 and 10% in years 22 to 25.
- Labor: Trex replaces boards or refunds the purchase price, and doesn't cover removal, installation labor or freight. Deckorators covers prorated replacement labor only on Voyage and Picture Frame Board. Fiberon offers a 5-, 10- or 15-year labor warranty on select products, but only through a Fiberon Certified Installer.
- Selling the house: the Trex residential warranty can be transferred once, within 5 years of purchase. The Deckorators warranty can't be passed to a later buyer, must be registered, and claims are due within 30 days of finding the defect.
- Paint and coatings: Trex says painting or coating its boards voids the warranty.
Which composite decking stays coolest in Texas heat?
No composite stays cool on a 100-degree Dallas afternoon, and no independent test compares these four brands side by side. Two brands publish a number, each against a different baseline, one gives no number, one makes no claim, and Trex and TimberTech both say a lighter color helps.
The heat is real here. The National Weather Service's Fort Worth office says DFW summer highs are consistently in the 90s and often reach or exceed 100 degrees in July and August. Block Renovation's Dallas guide says UV is intense from May through September.
- Trex: Trex calls Transcend Lineage "our coolest decking yet." Its SunComfortable technology is also offered in five Enhance colors (Cinnamon Cove, Golden Hour, Honey Grove, Tide Pool and Pebble Beach) and in Select's newest color collection. Trex says SunComfortable reduced heat buildup by up to 35°F against its original boards in a lab test, and adds that the deck "will still get hot."
- TimberTech: TimberTech says its AZEK Advanced PVC with Cool Touch "stays up to 30 degrees cooler" than competitive products, offers Cool Touch in 14 colors, and says PVC cools off quicker than composite once it's out of the sun. It also says all decking gets hot.
- Deckorators: a sponsored trade article says Surestone's infrared-reflective cap keeps it "cooler than traditional composite decking," with no temperature figure.
- Fiberon: Fiberon doesn't publish a heat-mitigation claim for these lines.
Because one figure is measured against Trex's own older boards and the other against unnamed competitors, you can't line them up and call a winner. The fair test is your own: get light-colored samples of the two or three lines you're considering, set them in the same sunny spot in your yard, and touch them in the late afternoon.
Two more numbers matter for Texas. Trex says its boards can soften at temperatures as low as 176°F, which is why it warns about fire pits. And if you want to use the deck on summer afternoons, plan for shade: a covered deck or pavilion over part of the deck keeps that area out of direct sun.
Trex Transcend Lineage vs TimberTech AZEK Vintage vs Fiberon Concordia
These three flagship lines are worth comparing head to head: Lineage is Trex's coolest composite, Vintage is TimberTech's top PVC, and Concordia is Fiberon's four-sided-capped composite.
| Trex Transcend Lineage | TimberTech AZEK Vintage | Fiberon Concordia | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | Wood-plastic composite | PVC, no wood fiber | Wood-plastic composite, 94% recycled |
| Cap | Three sides | Not stated | Four sides, reversible |
| Board sizes | 0.94 x 5.5 in (12, 16, 20 ft); narrow 0.94 x 3.5 in x 16 ft | 3.5, 5.5 and 7.25 in wide, all 1 in thick | 0.94 x 5.4 in, flat bottom (12, 16, 20 ft) |
| Heat claim (maker's own) | Up to 35°F less heat buildup than Trex's original boards | Up to 30 degrees cooler than competitive products | None published |
| Warranty (residential) | 50 years, including fade and stain | Limited lifetime, plus 50 years fade and stain | Lifetime, plus 50 years stain and fade |
| Retail starting price | $7.15 per linear foot (Transcend collections) | $7.68 per linear foot | $$$ (Fiberon's symbol; not in the retailer's list) |
A quick way to choose between them:
- Pick Lineage if you want a Trex composite in a light color, with Trex's heat-mitigating technology and a 3.5-inch board for borders or mixed widths.
- Pick Vintage if you want a board with no wood in it, the widest range of widths (up to 7.25 inches) and TimberTech's traction claim.
- Pick Concordia if a four-sided cap and a reversible board matter more to you than a published heat claim.
Scratch resistance and durability: what the brands claim
Only Trex publishes a scratch ranking (Signature is its most scratch-resistant board, and Transcend has "five-star scratch resistance"), and no brand publishes independent wear-test numbers.
The other claims you'll see are about traction, not scratching: TimberTech's 40% better traction for Vintage and Harvest is measured against "competitive products" it doesn't name. If you have large dogs or plan to drag patio furniture, ask for samples of the lines you're considering and run your keys across them. That tells you more than any brochure.
Board widths and hidden fastener systems
Standard boards from all four brands are about 5.25 to 5.5 inches wide. Trex Lineage adds a 3.5-inch board and TimberTech AZEK adds 3.5- and 7.25-inch boards for mixed-width decks, and each brand has its own hidden clip for grooved boards.
| Brand | Standard board | Other sizes | Hidden fasteners |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trex | 0.94 x 5.5 in (Lineage, Transcend, Enhance); Select 0.82 x 5.5 in | Lineage 0.94 x 3.5 in; Transcend and Select 2x6 at 1.3 x 5.5 in | Trex Hidden Fastening System for grooved boards; Hideaway fasteners carry their own warranty |
| TimberTech | 5.36 x 0.94 in (Legacy, Terrain, Prime); Premier 5.36 x 0.89 in | Vintage 3.5, 5.5 and 7.25 x 1 in; Harvest 5.5 and 7.25 in, plus a 5.5 x 1.5 in MAX board | CONCEALoc clips (grooved), SIDELoc (square-shoulder AZEK boards), Cortex screw-and-plug, TOPLoc face screws; FUSIONLoc is discontinued |
| Fiberon | Concordia and Sanctuary 0.94 x 5.4 in | Promenade 1.05 x 5.5 in; Good Life 0.92 x 5.25 in with a grooved underside | EDGE, EDGEX and STARTER clips (lifetime warranty); Phantom hidden fasteners (20 years) |
| Deckorators | 5.5 in wide (Voyage, Vista, Summit, Venture), grooved or solid edge | Porch flooring 3 1/8 in, tongue and groove; Trailhead 7/8 x 5.5 in, scalloped | Not covered in the documents we read |
Two details are worth knowing before you order. Fiberon says its decking is warranted for use with its EDGE and EDGEX fasteners, so use its clips with its boards. And joist spacing follows the board: Fiberon calls for joists at 16 inches on center for Concordia laid square to the joists, 12 inches for boards laid at 45 degrees and 12 inches on stair stringers. Deckorators launched Trailhead with a 16-inch on-center span. If you're re-boarding an old wood frame, it may need joists added to meet those numbers.
What does each brand cost? (2026)
Boards are the smaller part of the bill. Trex says materials are up to a third of a pro-installed deck, and TimberTech puts decking material and fasteners near 20% of the project, so the gap between brands shrinks once framing and labor are added.
TimberTech's own breakdown is 20% decking material and fasteners, 38% substructure, 30% decking and railing labor, and 12% railing material. Trex estimates composite deck materials at $15 to $30 per square foot including substructure, decking, hardware and fasteners, not counting Signature.
For the finished job, Block Renovation's 2026 Dallas guide puts installed composite decks at $25 to $50 per square foot. Advantage Lumber, a decking retailer, gives a general range (not specific to Dallas) of $40 to $70 per square foot for standard installed composite and $70 to $100 or more for complex builds. Our Dallas deck cost guide breaks the price down by size and material.
Archetex Outdoor Design Co. doesn't publish set prices. You get a written price after a free site visit.
Texas fine print: heat, hail, low-E windows and railing warranties
Read the exclusions before you pick a brand for a Texas deck: Deckorators excludes hail and heat reflected from low-E glass, Trex excludes heat sources over 275°F, and Trex's Transcend railing warranty drops from 35 to 25 years in Texas.
- Railing in Texas: Trex Transcend composite railing carries a 35-year residential warranty in most of the US, but 25 years in Texas (and in Arizona, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Louisiana, New Mexico and Missouri). We didn't find a similar Texas cut on any brand's decking warranty.
- Hail: Deckorators lists acts of God, including hail and tornado, as exclusions. Trex also excludes acts of God.
- Low-E windows and doors: Deckorators excludes damage from "abnormally high heat sources," naming grills, fire pits and low-E glass windows or doors. Trex's 2026 install guide warns that sunlight reflected off low-E glass can char or discolor the decking or make it bow. Deck Builder magazine has reported that low-E insulated glass can bow inward and focus sunspots above 200°F.
- Heat sources: Trex excludes damage from heat sources over 275°F. Check the brand's guidance before you set a grill or fire pit on the deck.
- Installation: Trex excludes improper installation or gapping, and Deckorators excludes failure to follow its install instructions. The warranty is only as good as the install.
Before you choose a board, walk the back of the house and note any low-E windows or glass doors facing the deck, then ask the builder how they'll handle them. Because every warranty depends on following the brand's install guide, the builder matters as much as the brand. Our guide on how to choose a deck builder covers what to ask.
Matthew at Archetex designs and builds composite decks across Dallas and suburbs such as Plano, and offers a free site visit and a written price. See our composite deck builder in Dallas page, or contact us to book a visit.

